What is the Compact?

The Southeast Florida Regional Climate Change Compact (the Compact) is a partnership between Broward, Miami-Dade, Monroe, and Palm Beach Counties, to work collaboratively to reduce regional greenhouse gas emissions, implement adaptation strategies, and build climate resilience across the Southeast Florida region.

The Compact emerged in late 2009 through the leadership of local government officials in Southeast Florida, who came together to discuss the climate change threats facing over six million residents in the region. Recognizing the shared challenge, but also significant opportunity to position Southeast Florida as an early leader, their call to action solidified a coordinated, regional response in the form of the Compact, which aims to ensure that the region continues to thrive in the face of shared climate change challenges.

For over a decade, the Compact counties have successfully collaborated on mitigation and adaptation strategies, built bipartisan support for climate action, and forged partnerships with key stakeholders, including federal, state, and municipal governments and agencies; economic development entities; community-based organizations; and the academic community, enabling the development of a regional voice and vision for future prosperity in Southeast Florida.

The Compact's efforts have three overarching objectives:

Share regional tools and knowledge

The Compact serves to create regional tools and standards, and transfer knowledge to build the local government capacity needed to implement regional climate solutions and avoid duplicative efforts.

Increase public support and political will

Through a unified voice, the Compact provides the nonpartisan credibility, legitimacy, and continuity necessary for meaningful government action to address projected climate impacts.

Coordinate action

The Compact catalyzes and supports the region’s coordinated actions to accelerate the pace and impact of efforts that will increase the region’s climate resilience.

Key Staff Contacts

The Compact is governed by an interlocal agreement signed by each county’s Board of County Commissioners on a three year basis, which provides the cost-share agreement to fund the Compact’s operations.

Jennifer Jurado, Ph.D.
Chief Resilience Officer and Deputy Director, Resilient Environment Department
Broward County

Rhonda Haag
Chief Resilience Officer
Monroe County

James Murley
Chief Resilience Officer, Office of Resilience
Miami-Dade County

Megan Houston
Director, Office of Resilience
Palm Beach County