SEFL Climate Action Pledge

The Compact invites all local and tribal governments in the four-county region to affirm commitment to jointly advancing strategic climate adaptation and mitigation efforts and advancing the implementation of the Regional Climate Action Plan through adopting the Southeast Florida Climate Action Pledge.

The Climate Action Pledge was first developed in 2012 after the release of the first RCAP document, in recognition of the significant climate leadership demonstrated by local and tribal governments and the central role that municipal and tribal government partners play in advancing toward a more resilient region. More than a third of local and tribal governments joined the four counties in adopting the 2012 Pledge.

A decade later, the Compact has updated the Climate Action Pledge to align with the RCAP 3.0 update and to reaffirm our shared commitment to a regionally collaborative approach to achieving climate adaptation and mitigation objectives.

Following adoption by your government, please contact Lauren Evans ( or Russell Paez ( to ensure your community’s participation is recorded.

Local and Tribal Government Partners

The following is a list of local and tribal governments that have signed onto the Climate Action Pledge:

CityAdopted Date
Boca RatonJanuary 24, 2023
Boyton BeachDecember 5, 2023
Cooper CityMay 23, 2023
Coral SpringsNovember 28, 2023
Delray BeachNovember 7, 2023
Fort LauderdaleJune 6, 2023
HollywoodJanuary 17, 2024
IslamoradaJuly 6, 2023
Key Colony BeachJuly 20, 2023
Lake ParkOctober 4, 2023
LauderhillJune 26, 2023
LaytonJuly 13, 2023
MarathonJuly 11, 2023
MiramarAugust 16, 2023
Oakland ParkMay 17, 2023
PlantationMay 16, 2023
Pompano BeachMay 9, 2023
SunriseOctober 24, 2023
West Palm BeachNovember 13, 2023
Wilton ManorsMay 9, 2023