Skip to Main Content

What is the Compact?

The Southeast Florida Regional Climate Change Compact (the Compact) is a partnership between Broward, Miami-Dade, Monroe, and Palm Beach Counties, to work collaboratively to reduce regional greenhouse gas emissions, implement adaptation strategies, and build climate resilience across the Southeast Florida region. 

The Compact emerged in late 2009 through the leadership of local government officials in Southeast Florida, who came together to discuss the climate change threats facing over six million residents in the region. Recognizing the shared challenge, but also significant opportunity to position Southeast Florida as an early leader, their call to action solidified a coordinated, regional response in the form of the Compact, which aims to ensure that the  region continues to thrive in the face of shared climate change challenges. 

For over a decade, the Compact counties have successfully collaborated on mitigation and adaptation strategies, built bipartisan support for climate action, and forged partnerships with key stakeholders, including federal, state, and municipal governments and agencies; economic development entities; community-based organizations; and the academic community, enabling the development of a regional voice and vision for future prosperity in Southeast Florida. 

The Compact’s efforts have three overarching objectives: 

  • Share regional tools and knowledge. The Compact serves to create regional tools and standards, and transfer knowledge to build the local government capacity needed to implement regional climate solutions and avoid duplicative efforts.
  • Increase public support and political will. Through a unified voice, the Compact provides the nonpartisan credibility, legitimacy, and continuity necessary for meaningful government action to address projected climate impacts.
  • Coordinate action. The Compact  catalyzes and supports the region’s coordinated actions to accelerate the pace and impact of efforts that will increase the region’s climate resilience.